ISA, GSA and Volunteering complete their committees

The International Students' Association, the Graduate Students' Association and YUSU's Volunteering Committee have filled their committees for 2012-13 after their recent elections.


Volunteering Committee held their elections in week 6 of the Summer Term and designated seven roles to new positions holders.

On her YUSU blog, Volunteering Officer Louisa Moorhouse wrote: "I am extremely excited to have a fab new committee to get stuck in for the next year!

"We had a great day at the Celebrate York event a few weeks ago. We were facepainting non stop and also contributed 136 pieces of bunting to a world record attempt that we were helping out with. This made well over 8 metres of bunting with loads left over!

"We will be out in force at York Carnival, Faxival, Alcuin Fete and many more over the next few weeks!"

Results of the elections are as follows:
Vice Chair - Steph Marsh
Fundraising and Sponsorship Officer - Elise Kemp
Publicity and Events Officer - Natalie Chua
Secretary - Tain Duncan
One-Off Projects Officer - Rebekah Martin
Ordinary Members - Alice Housego, Chantelle Garbutt and Ellen Pearson

Results have also been announced in the Graduate Students' Association elections, which took place in week 7.

New officers will take up their positions on September 1, with current officers continuing in their roles until that date.

For a full break down of the rounds of voting visit the GSA website.

The committee is as follows:
President Election - Karin Diaconu
Academic Affairs Officer - Taha Rajab
Welfare Officer - Xinhua Zhang
Services Officer - Abdulkarim (AK) Oloyede
Finance and Community Officer - Tuyuan Cheng
GSA Student Trustee - Ali Bostancioglu

©York ISA

The International Students Association also elected a new committee for 2012-13, with the eight roles highly contested at the elections meeting in week 7.

International Officer Mike Anstey wrote on his YUSU blog: "Last night saw the ISA elect its new executive committee for 2012-2013 in a heated election for the eight core positions.

"A huge thank you to everyone who ran for postions and everyone who came (in force!) to support. Also, a huge thank you to Marc Kidson (Returning Officer) for all his hard work throughout the night!

"We would just like to say thank you so much to the past committee for all their hard work done with the ISA over the past year to better the organisation and improve the university experience for everyone, and I wish you all the best for the future- whatever and wherever it holds/will take you!

"I look forward to working closely with the new committee and am sure that they will work hard to continuing the extensive work and progress of the society for the upcoming year."

The committee is as follows:
Vice – Xiaodan Sun
Treasurer – Kingma Ma
Secretary – Raina Akhundlu
Events – Egle Vasiliauskaite, Jeff Tse, Lily Cheung
Welfare – Rapolas Ručinskas
Sports – Jack Chang
Marketing – Layne Wang, Zhen Cheng
Integration – Fathma Khalid

Follow on twitter

comments powered by Disqus