Our Spring magazine is finally here! Click here to view and read our new articles!

Alex Urquhart becomes YUSU President in 2017 elections

Image: Jatin Mapara / The Yorker
Image: Jatin Mapara / The Yorker
Image: Jatin Mapara / The Yorker

Alex Urquhart has been elected the next President of the University of York Students’ Union (YUSU) in the 2017 officer elections.

Urquhart took the coveted position of President of YUSU, defeating seven candidates, including Roberto Avelar, Jed Fulwell, Charlie Chester, Will Batchelor, Thomas Arnold and Ellie Smith. Max Flynn withdrew from the presidential race shortly before the Results Night.

Julian Porch ran a successful campaign to be Academic Officer against the Department Representative for the Department of Theatre, Film and Television, Jay Elizabeth Edevane.

Mikey Collinson, of PantSoc fame, defeated Daniel James Bowen to become the new Activities Officer of YUSU.

Mia Shantana Chaudhuri-Julyan, currently serving as Women’s Officer with Lucy Robinson, saw off competition from Thomas Underwood to become the new Community & Wellbeing Officer of the union.

Laura Carruthers fought and won against Peter Fisher, Josie Phillipps and Alexander Lake to take the position of YUSU’s York Sport President.



The full results of the elections can be found below:

YUSU President – Alexander Urquhart

Student Academic Officer – “JP” Julian Porch

Community & Wellbeing Officer – Mia Shantana Chaudhuri-Julyan

Student Activities Officer – Mikey Collinson

York Sport President – Laura Carruthers

Black & Minority Ethnic (BME) Officer – Deborah Daniel & Afoma Ojukwa

Disabled Students’ Officer – Aisling Musson

LGBTQ Officers – Henry Fairnington

RAG Officer – Sophie Wain & Claudia D’Almo

Volunteering Officers – Alice Driver & Jasmine Pledger

Women’s Officers – Catherine Yarrow & Michaela Tharby

Environment & Ethics Officers – Anna Spowage

International Officer – Muhammad Hassan & Agnieskza Gziut

Mature Students’ Officers – Megan Jones & Neomi Marsolo

Faculty Representative for Arts – no candidates

Faculty Representative for Science – no candidates

Faculty Representative for Social Sciences – no candidates

Policy Coordinator –Jack Harvey