Our Spring magazine is finally here! Click here to view and read our new articles!

Candidates announced for YUSU elections 2015


The full list of candidates for 2015’s YUSU elections has been announced.


There are five candidates running for Student Union President. Positions with only one nomination will still have to be contested with RON (Re-Open for Nominations).

Full Time Officers’ Debate on Tuesday 17th February (Week 7) and Results Night on Friday 27th February (Week Eight). Campaigning will begin next week (Week 7), while voting will be opened on 24th February (Week 8). You can follow the YUSU Elections at #YUSUelections on Twitter.

Full List of Candidates

YUSU President
Ben Leatham
Ron Weasley
George Balmford
Ollie Rowley
Samuel Bourne

Academic Officer
Hannah Pinsent
Tom Clark
Thomas Ron
Reza Danesh-Azari
Sean Pullen

Student Activities Officer
Leena Rivas
Chris Wall
Rafaela Oplopoiou
Loussin-Torah Pilikian
Emma Smith

Welfare and Community Officer
Scott Dawson
Edi Adegbola
Anna Cook

York Sport President
Ellie Whittaker
Grace Clarke
Tiarnan Cotter
Dave Washington

BME Officer
Tamaki Laycock and Elizabeth Ogenyi
Aquib Hussain and Yousef Jumah
Maria Munir
Ruth Maku

Disabled Students’ Officer
Zohra Khan

Environment and Ethics Officer
Omar Mousa
Tess Parker and Jacob Webb
Denis Farrer and Shaquile Noor

International Officer
Roberto Avelar and Olivia May Grutter
Danai Theodoraki and Paraskevi Moutsipai
Ilyas Sliti and Richard Osho

LGBTQ Officer
Ashley Reed
Liam O’Brien and Dom Smithies
Evie Brill and Jack Chadwick
Andy Macauley

RAG Officer
Isobel Wisher
Anand Goyal and Michelle Lee
Hannah Geddes

Volunteering Officer
Faye Astin and Becky Longbottom

Women’s Officer
Ananna Zaman and Katherine Mellor

NUS Delegate
Sean Pullen
Caleb Riley
Beth Curtis
William Hornett
Callum Shannon
Habib Nassar
Stuart Maule
Henry Hale
Chris Wall
Jemima Busby
Nourhan Nassar

Policy Coordinator
Callum Furness

Senate Rep
Faisal Hamza

Student Trustee
Benjamin Roach
Jack Chadwick